Books and owning n00bs

Well then, where to begin? Today was a normal day at college apart from that fact that I finished at 12 but I waited around with the girlfriend in order to get lunchen. Mmmm, meatball sub of the day :). Man, she’s amazing. The girlfriend that is, not the sub. Although… Anyway, I got home and sat about for a while not doing anything at all. So, I logged onto my PC and received an e-mail about computer expectations for me when I get to uni. Apparently, I don’t need to have Final Cut Pro and nor do I need to have a Mac. These are two plus points for me, for FCP costs £120+ and a MacBook costs about £700-£1200. I don’t have that kind of money. In fact, I don’t have any money. The more I think about it, the more and more I want to include a PayPal link up the top for people to leave me donations. Yeah, I’ll try and work out how to do that. I now need to find a Windows laptop that will see me through Uni. Ideally, I want one with a 2.4ghz processor and at least 2gb of RAM. May be expensive but hopefully prices will be driven down before September.

Anyway, when I got home, and after I sat at my desk looking at laptops, I went outside into the sun and started reading. I’m reading ‘Fat’ by Rob Grant and it is absolutely brilliant. The way that he creates humour and depicts the train of thought that we all succumb to and recognise within other characters is truly brilliant. It is all done in the third person by the narrator which makes it even more difficult for the author to create a link between us and the characters, but Grant does it truly sublimely. I also recommend his other works like “Incompetence” and his collaborations with Doug Naylor in the Red Dwarf books. I really can’t wait for the exams to be over and really want to sit down and read. I have a couple of books to read and not nearly enough free time to do so. I have ‘The Sot-Weed Factor’ by John Barth to read, ‘The Gospel of the Flying Spaghetti Monster’ by Bobby Henderson and ‘Happyslapped by a Jellyfish’ by Karl Pilkington. I want to finish my exams and then just sit down for a couple of weeks and tear my way through these books.

On a slightly lighter note, I played some Halo 3 with my twin bro Loz (OMG HE’S A TWIN), and no we can’t talk to each other telepathically and if he were hurt I would not feel it and vice versa. Although, if you catch me in a rather sarcastic mood, we may well do. Team SWAT is such an awesome inclusion into Ranked Matchmaking although it is going to be hard to move up the ranks due to the fact that there are level 50s and 49s just starting who just poon you every time. Not only that, but we seem to get all of the skill level 1 people on our team who just suck. One game, we lost by about 3 kills and one guy on our team was on minus fucking 10. Minus 10. Who the fuck plays Halo with a minus 10 k/d ratio. Shit people, that’s who. Shit people.

~ by robertftaylor on May 13, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
