Dr Who, Super Smash Bros and Dr Who

It has been a very long time since I’ve actually made a post. I haven’t been up to much but I am eagerly awaiting the return of my older brother who is finally coming back from Uni after 3 years so I’m a little happy about that. I also have Super Smash Bros. Brawl and it is awesome. It really does bring back memories of when I used to play it back on the GameCube and even Nintendo 64. Unlocking all of the characters was somewhat easier than in previous installments but the fact that there are 35 characters to choose from can make for some very interesting fights. I used to be a big fan of Marth but they changed him and his B move is different ūüė¶ This meant that I tried different characters and I have found Sonic to be really good and playable.

Anyway. Moving on from SSBB, I want to talk about Dr Who. I haven’t talked about three episodes now so I think I shall do a little re-cap.

Midnight – Was probably the best episode of this series so far. There was no CGI, no monsters and just class-A acting (maybe something to do with the fact that Catherine Tate wasn’t in it). This episode was emotive and also left some loose ends that may well be tied up later on. I watched this episode on the BBC i-player at 1am by myself in a dark house and I had to keep looking over my shoulder.

Turn Left – This episode was absolutely shit. Not the shit, just shit. It was a lame “what-if” episode that just had Russel T Davies wasting time before the next ‘shit-hits-the-fan’ season final√©. Not much to say here apart from “What’s that on your back? It looks like a shitty prop!”

The Stolen Earth – Hmmmm. Although I have complained in the past about Mr Davies using the Daleks as a safe bet season final√©, but this time it’s different. No expenses spared on the CGI front with an absolute amazing panoramic view of 27 planets floating in the same piece of space. The Daleks still look good but the laser that kills people still looks like shit. The one good thing, the one little ray of light at the end of the tunnel came in the form of the light emitted from David Tennant when he started to regenerate. I hope that he does regenerate into someone else. John Simm and James Nesbitt have been rumoured, but I would personally like to see Alan Davies or Stephen Fry. They would make very interesting Doctors. Despite my hopes of anyone replacing Tennant they may be quashed by the fact that Tennant has already stated that he would be in the Christmas special and the 2009 series. Looks like Tennant is here to stay.

Although, they could all be elaborate cover ups in order to surprise everyone. I doubt it, Russell T Davies isn’t that creative.

~ by robertftaylor on June 28, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
