The Force Unleashed; and then tied up again

Hey everyone. I have a couple of things I want to write about in this post so please stay with me on this. I haven’t made a post in quite a long time (5 days?) and this is down to several reasons. The biggest reason is that Star Wars: The Force Unleashed came out on Friday and I have been playing it quite a lot. I played the demo to death and was delighted to see that much of what made the demo fun is still in the game. However, when playing the demo, I found myself having a lot more fun with the physics engine than I do when playing the full game. The game starts off so strongly and then falters at the half-way point with a very disappointing string of re-hashed levels. Now, the Felucian and Junkyard worlds are beautifully detailed, but re-using the textures and artistic direction in another level makes me think that the developers were getting lazy. The player ends up going to Felucia twice and the Junkyard level twice. Now, of course the level layout isn’t the same, but it doesn’t make it feel as though progress is being made. Seeing the same areas again and again made me feel, well, bored. It’s not only the art department that has cut back on expenses, the Force seems to have too. I remember being sold this game on the pretense that the Force was the ultimate power and is the best thing since sliced bread. We were shown Starkiller pulling Imperial Ships out of the sky and picking up trees and hurling them at unsuspecting Jawa(s?). What we do get, however, is the chance to pick up a blind, drunk man and throw him into some carbonite and freeze him to death(that is, if you’re as heartless as I am).

Despite the foibles that this game has, it still plays well enough to make it a decent enough action game. The fact that it is Star Wars works as a double edged sword. On one side we have an amazing story that people understand, and cashing in on that is no bad thing. On the other side, people expect too much from Lucas these days and some may feel a little shortchanged. The story is engaging with plenty of characters who give very convincing dialogue. This game is good enough to warrant a play through but may not hold up well enough to keep you coming back for more in the same way that Ninja Gaiden can.

I’ve also been busy this week with getting stuff for Uni sorted and I went to a filming of a comedy quiz panel show called Argumental. We were delighted by seeing John Sergeant, Marcus Brigstocke, Rufus Hound, Frankie Boyle and Phil Jupitus. The show was very funny and I managed to get a man-hug off Rufus Hound a little after he managed to assault my mate in hilarious fashion. My twin brother Loz moved to Uni yesterday and it was strange not to see him sitting at his desk calling me gay and asking me to make him a drink.

Ahhh, I miss you too Loz…

~ by robertftaylor on September 21, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
